The ugly truth of life

A lie…



Google defines it as an intentionally false statement. I call it the ugly truth of life. We say we don’t like liars and we hate people that lie, but the truth is, we all lie. Tell me you have never told a lie…but be honest with yourself.  
I say we all lie because that’s just what I think. Because one way or another we have all lied. It’s either we lied to those around us or we lied to ourselves, but a lie is a lie.

You remember that time when you told yourself what you did was not wrong and you did it to protect someone, well you lied to yourself. They say lies are meant to deceive one but that’s not all…at times we lie so we make ourselves feel better. We avoid the truth because we want to believe there is some good in us or because we are hoping our lies will eventually become the new truth.

Take those that commit suicide for instance. They tell themselves the world is a better place without them, they tell themselves people are better off without them which is not true. They say these things so they at least feel good about what they are about to do. They say the world is better off without them so they think by killing themselves they are making a world a better place, that they are heroes for doing the world a favor. See, they lie to themselves so it’s easier for them.

So yes, we all lie one way or another. When you fancy someone and they don’t feel the same way you tell yourself, he or she wasn’t really your type. Yes he or she was your type, but you lie to yourself so it doesn’t hurt too much. You say you were never really into them so you make yourself feel better. So yes we all lie.

When you don’t get what you want or when you fail at something, you tell yourself you were in a bad place and you didn’t really focus, or you tell yourself you weren’t really interested or that you only did it because a friend insisted and you didn’t want to let them down…maybe yes, but you say this because the thought of failure makes you sick to your stomach.

 I remember this one time I entered a beauty pageant. I was positive I was going to take at least one title home…and then I didn’t. So this lady comes up and tells me they couldn’t let two people from the same school take titles while other schools go with none. She told me “you will get your 2nd princess presents later”…until this very day, I didn’t get anything. Somehow I knew I was never getting those presents but I believed her lie. I kept telling myself I won but I made a sacrifice so that all schools that participated can be happy. I kept telling myself I was a hero, she lied to me but I believed it. I knew it was a lie, but I believed it hoping it will become a new truth but it didn’t. It was a good lie though…I mean it hurt less wherever I told myself I won and made a scarifice and somehow my confidence wasn’t shuttered.

So yeah…we all lie

But I guess a lie is only bad if you are using it to manipulate or deceive those around you but, if you are lying to yourself so you don’t feel damaged or weak, lying to yourself so your self-confidence isn’t shuttered, lying to yourself so it doesn’t hurt as much, then keep lying to yourself my person. They say fake it till you make it. 


Just be careful what lies you tell yourself.

Leave a Reply

